The Royal Book of Oz


The Royal Book of Oz is the fifteenth and last official book in the Oz series. It was inspired by L. Frank Baum but written by Ruth Plumly Thompson and published after Baum's death. The story begins as the Scarecrow becomes upset when Professor Woggle-Bug claims that he has no family. The Scarecrow returns to the corn-field where Dorothy found him in The Wonderful Wizard of Oz in search of his past.  Seeming lost, Dorothy and the Cowardly Lion begin a search for him and along the way encounter Sir Hokus the Knight, Doubtful the Dromedary, and Comfortable the Camel. In this story we find out who the Scarecrow really is and how he came to be in the corn-field that fateful day.

 Link to Open LORE accessible e-book format descriptionsAccessible e-book designed to help with dyslexia

Download formats:
ePUB (for Open LORE, iPAD)
AZW3 (for Kindle, Kindle Fire)
Zip Bundle (both formats plus color font in one zip file)

 Download Instructions

Readability Method Rating
Fry Estimate
Flesh Reading Ease
Composite Grade Level
Open LORE Reading Level
75 (fairly easy)