The Valley of Fear


The Valley of Fear, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, was published in 1915 and was the fourth and final Sherlock Holmes full-length novel. Holmes and Watson receive a coded letter from Fred Porlock – the fake name of an informant who is employed by Professor Moriarty’s criminal organization. The decoded letter warns of the impending murder of one John Douglas of Birlstone House. When Scotland Yard Inspector MacDonald arrives to say that, in fact, John Douglas has already been killed, the famous detectives accompany him to the manor house in Sussex to start the investigation.

 Link to Open LORE accessible e-book format descriptionsAccessible e-book designed to help with dyslexia

Download formats:
ePUB (Open LORE, iPAD)
AZW3 (Kindle, Kindle Fire)
Zip Bundle (all formats plus color font in one zip file)

 Download Instructions

Readability Method Rating
Fry Estimate
Flesh Reading Ease
Composite Grade Level
Open LORE Reading Level
80 (easy)