The Emerald City of Oz


The Emerald City of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, is the sixth book in the Oz series. At the beginning of the story, it becomes clear that Dorothy Gale speaks freely of her adventures to her only living relatives, her Aunt Em and Uncle Henry. Neither of them believes a word of her stories, but consider her a dreamer. Soon it is revealed that Uncle Henry is in terrible debt and in order to pay it, he has taken out a mortgage on his farm. If he cannot repay his creditors, they will seize the farm. Dorothy arranges with Princess Ozma to take them to the Land of Oz, where they will be safe. They are given rooms to live in and luxuries to enjoy, but all is not well as Roquat, the King of Nome, plots his revenge on Oz.

 Link to Open LORE accessible e-book format descriptionsAccessible e-book designed to help with dyslexia

Download formats:
ePUB (for Open LORE, iPAD)
AZW3 (for Kindle, Kindle Fire)
Zip Bundle (both formats plus color font in one zip file)

 Download Instructions

Readability Method Rating
Fry Estimate
Flesh Reading Ease
Composite Grade Level
Open LORE Reading Level
76 (fairly easy)