Tanglewood Tales


Tanglewood Tales, a collection of children’s short stories by Nathaniel Hawthorne, was published in 1853. Tanglewood Tales is the second of a two-volume short story set which includes A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys. Each tale is taken from well-known Greek mythology. The stories are beautifully illustrated by Milo Winter and include “The Minotaur”, “The Pygmies”, “The Dragon’s Teeth”, “Circe’s Palace”, “The Pomegranate Seed”, and “The Golden Fleece”.

 Link to Open LORE accessible e-book format descriptionsAccessible e-book designed to help with dyslexia

Download formats:
ePUB (Open LORE, iPAD)
AZW3 (Kindle, Kindle Fire)
Zip Bundle (all formats plus color font in one zip file)

 Download Instructions

Readability Method Rating
Fry Estimate
Flesh Reading Ease
Composite Grade Level
Open LORE Reading Level
67 (plain English)