Bleak House


Bleak House, by Charles Dickens, was first published as a 20 part series in 1852 - 1853. Bleak House is an intensely complex novel of plots, sub-plots, minor characters, and how they interrelate. At the core of the story is Esther Summerson, the illegitimate child of an undisclosed relationship and Ada and Richard, her unbeknownst cousins. Together they suffer through the slow and tedious legal process of unraveling the contentious wills and estates that they are entitled to. Intrigue, deception, and even murder ensue as Dicken’s weaves a masterful story of unforgettable characters.

 Link to Open LORE accessible e-book format descriptionsAccessible e-book designed to help with dyslexia

Download formats:
ePUB (Open LORE, iPAD)
AZW3 (Kindle, Kindle Fire)
Zip Bundle (all formats plus color font in one zip file)

 Download Instructions

Readability Method Rating
Fry Estimate
Flesh Reading Ease
Composite Grade Level
Open LORE Reading Level
73 (fairly easy)