A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys


A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys, a collection of children’s short stories by Nathaniel Hawthorne, was published in 1852. A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys is the first of a two-volume short story set which includes Tanglewood Tales.  Each tale, taken from Greek mythology, is retold by college student Eustace Bright as he reads them to a group of children. The stories are beautifully illustrated by Walter Crane and include “The Gorgan’s Head”, “The Golden Touch”, “The Paradise of Children”, “The Three Golden Apples”, “The Miraculous Pitcher”, and “The Chimæra”.

 Link to Open LORE accessible e-book format descriptionsAccessible e-book designed to help with dyslexia

Download formats:
ePUB (Open LORE, iPAD)
AZW3 (Kindle, Kindle Fire)
Zip Bundle (all formats plus color font in one zip file)

 Download Instructions

Readability Method Rating
Fry Estimate
Flesh Reading Ease
Composite Grade Level
Open LORE Reading Level
69 (plain English)